Search by Category

Subscribe to our News Feed

2012 Goldman Environmental Prize Winners Risk Their Lives

Environment News Service


The Goldman Environmental Foundation today announced the six winners of the 2012 Goldman Environmental Prize, people who protect the environment and their communities, often at risk of their lives.

Now in its 23rd year, the Goldman Environmental Prize, is awarded annually to "grassroots environmental heroes" from each of the world's six inhabited regions. It is the largest award for grassroots activism with an individual cash prize of $150,000 for each winner.

The 2012 winners will be awarded the prize at an invitation-only ceremony this evening at the San Francisco Opera House. A smaller ceremony at the Smithsonian's National Museum of Natural History in Washington, DC will follow on Wednesday.

The Goldman Environmental Prize was established in 1989 by late San Francisco civic leaders and philanthropists Richard and Rhoda Goldman.

Prize winners are selected by an international jury from confidential nominations submitted by a worldwide network of environmental organizations and individuals. The jury considers nominations from more than 50 organizations working on environmental issues and 150 environmental experts from more than 70 countries. These nominations are researched and fact-checked over a five-month period, during which time hundreds of references are contacted.

Read Full Article